Workshop at David Andrews 17th Annual CEG conference November 2014

David has very kindly asked me to lead a workshop at his forthcoming conference for CEG advisers in schools in November. I’ve been tasked to cover “Practical approaches to building employer engagement activities into a school careers program” in my slot. I’ve never been to this annual conference but some local colleagues attended last year and loved it so I’m very excited about some quality careers learning and hearing from the headline speakers such as Tristram Hooley and Karen O’Donoghue, but also I’m extremely conscious that I want to put on a worthwhile session. Getting the financial backing to attend any CPD isn’t easy these days (even to competitively priced events like this) so I’m very mindful that any delegates that do come and see me (those lost on their way to the toilets, those who ticked the wrong box on the booking sheet etc) feel that they’ve got a lot of value from the session.

So, if you were/are attending, what would you find helpful to hear about and discuss regarding engaging employers and getting them into school? I’ve got numerous hilarious and highly detailed tales of never-ending email trails about organising visits or speakers (“and then, we had to change it to the 14th because it clashed with a science practical!”) but I sense that the CEIAG world might not yet be ready for such high stakes drama. So far my rough plan is to cover not just the different types of interaction we have done and do but the conditions in school that help get those interactions on the timetable in the first place, experiences that have got the best feedback from students, things I’ve thought worked well and some cringe worthy nuggets of when things go terribly wrong thrown in for good measure.

Let me know what you would place value on hearing about either in the comments below or through twitter. Thanks.

 

3 comments

  1. Hi
    I attended last year, did Davids course 5 years ago when I was asked to lead ceiag in my school. We are part of Esh groups building my skills programme which is great, getting 5 speakers in setting employability tasks for y10. Find it very difficult to arrange visit s other wise, tried inspiring your future last year. Now have expanding alumni base via future first and I have an admin asst for first time so our careers fair is looking even better. Janet Colledge has been a great help.
    Looking forward to meeting you
    Sue
    @nerjasue
    Heaton Manor School Newcastle
    (If you google us, please ignore uniform articles !!)

Leave a Reply

